119 Ex-Lawmakers Illegally Dwelling in Parliament Lodges Asked to Vacate Premises

Posted on Posted inPolitics

Ex-PM Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, MQM-P leader Farooq Sattar, Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party chief Mahmood Khan Achakzai among others evicted

AUG 11, 2018: The Capital Development Authority (CDA) and Islamabad police launched a joint imitative on Saturday to have the Parliament Lodges vacated. These were in possession of ex-occupants, including including ex-PM Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Farooq Sattar and several other former members of the National Assembly.

All former parliamentarians, who had not been re-elected in the recent elections were given a deadline of July 31 to vacate their lodges. The CDA had issued notices and requested the former members to vacate the facility several times but to no avail.

119 ex-lawmakers were illegally dwelling in the government-owned facility, of which 30 have been evicted, according to a list issued by the authorities.

The authorities managed to have lodges vacated which were allotted to former federal minister Sheikh Aftab Ahmed, Qaumi Watan Party Chairman Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao as well as Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party chief Mahmood Khan Achakzai.

Malik Asad Sikandar, Bilal Virk, Raza Hayat Hiraj and Syed Ali Hasan Gilani’s governmental residences have also been vacated.

However, Talal Chaudhry and Abid Sher Ali — ex-lawmakers belonging to the PML-N who lost their seats in last month’s polls — have not yet vacated the lodges that were allotted to them when they were still members of the parliament.

Around 80 parliamentarians who have been re-elected will retain the same lodges.

On Friday, the CDA’s Enforcement and Security Directorate, along with district administration and capital police, conducted an operation to free up the Parliament Lodges from former lawmakers but achieved little success as only 20 lodges were vacated, reported Pakistan Today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *