ECP Directs Recounting of Votes in 26 National and Provincial Constituencies

Posted on Posted inPolitics

JUL 30, 2018: The Election Commission of Pakistan has directed recounting of votes in twenty-six national and provincial constituencies, Radio Pakistan reported.

According to ECP, recounting will be held in NA-57 (Murree), NA-158 (Multan), NA-110 (Faisalabad), NA-129 (Lahore), NA-112 (Toba Tek Singh), NA-15 (Abbottabad), NA-10 (Shangla), NA-159, NA-170 (Bahawalpur), NA-118 (Nankana Sahib), NA-140 (Kasur), PP-220 (Multan) and DG Khan district’s PP-291, PP-290, and PP-292 provincial constituencies.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi was defeated by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Sadaqat Abbasi in NA-57 (Murree). In NA-158, former premier and Pakistan Peoples Party leader Yousaf Raza Gilani was defeated by the PTI candidate.

In NA-129, PML-N leader and National Assembly speaker Ayaz Sadiq had defeated PTI’s Aleem Khan.

In NA-15, PML-N’s Murtaza Javed Abbasi, the deputy speaker of the National Assembly, had defeated PTI’s Ali Asghar Khan.

In NA-10, the PML-N had emerged victorious whereas in NA-170, the PTI candidate had defeated PML-N leader and former minister Baleeghur Rehman.

In NA-140, NA-112, NA-110, NA-159, NA-118, the PTI candidates had emerged victorious against the PML-N.

Meanwhile, recounting requests for 32 constituencies where consolidated results had already been received were rejected by the commission. These include NA-35 (Bannu), where Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan defeated former KP chief minister Akram Khan Durrani, who was contesting on a Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal ticket.

All earlier requests of recounts had been entertained at the RO and presiding officer (PO) level. These recounts will be done under the supervision of the ECP itself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *