26 Major Upsets Which Shifted Election 2018 Results in PTI’s Favor (Infographic)

Posted on Posted inPolitics

JUL 27, 2018: Movers and shakers of Election 2018 have thrown up a major upset in traditional electables wins and losses in elections for decades markedly controlled by Punjab’s PML-N and Sindh’s PPP taking turns to rule in the Center.

PTI emerged as the strongest party in the center with candidates winning from almost all provinces and major cities countrywide thus replacing PML-N and PPP on national level. Surprisingly, PTI also replaces Karachi’s MQM as the strongest party in the mega city. Sindh however remains PPP’s stronghold while in Punjab, PNL-N and PTI are neck and neck.

KP remains PTI’s stronghold for second consecutive term.

Karachi’s Pak Sarzameen — breakaway group from MQM, did not win any national assembly seats according to unofficial results. MQM got cut down to size with only 8 seats as compared to 21 in 2013 elections. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) scored more than 12 NA seats from Karachi and 4 from Lahore on national level.

PTI) chairman Imran Khan won all five seats where he had contested the elections, whereas the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam Fazl (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman and PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari lost in their traditional strongholds.

ONe major surprise was Bilawal being humbled in Lyari constituency — PPP’s traditional stronghold in Karachi since 1970.

Asfandyar Wali Khan, who heads the Awami National Party (ANP), lost the elections from his native Charsadda constituency.

PML-N president Shahbaz Sharif, who had contested the elections from four constituencies won only in Lahore. He lost the election in Karachi, Swat and Dera Ghazi Khan.

Table above presents latest snapshot of major upsets (party heads, bigwigs humbled) based on unofficial results.

Also in this camp is Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) chief Senator Sirajul Haq, who suffered a defeat in his native area of Lower Dir.

Another major political heavyweight who lost in the election is Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan who has been a permanent feature of the National Assembly since 1985. This time around, the politician from Chakri lost both seats (NA-59 and NA-63) in Rawalpindi district to Ghulam Sarwar Khan of the PTI. The estranged PML-N leader had contested the election as an independent candidate on the symbol of “jeep”.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbassi also lost the two seats he was contesting from to PTI candidates. In Islamabad, he was defeated by PTI chief Imran Khan, whereas in Murree, his native town, he faced defeat at the hands of PTI’s Sadaqat Abbasi.

Another important aspect of the general elections was the defeat of “electables” from the PPP who had recently joined the PTI. The results show that Nazar Mohammad Gondal, Nadeem Afzal Chan and Firdous Ashiq Awan lost the elections even though they had tickets of the PTI.

Another major upset was MQM’s Dr. Farooq Sattar losing out to Dr. Alvi of PTI in Karachi’s NA-247.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *