Pakistan defeat World XI to win Independence Cup 2017

Pakistan defeated visiting World XI cricket team in a gripping contest for the Independence Cup 2017 at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Friday.

Ahmad Shahzad’s blistering knock followed by some impressive bowling helped Pakistan seal the iconic Independence Cup with 33-run victory over World XI.

The game appeared to be on knife-edge until the last few overs, when Pakistan regained control of the innings, taking crucial wickets as the international team began to give the green shirts the run-around with a series of hard knocks.

World XI skipper Faf du Plessis won the toss and put Pakistan in to bat first, as was the case in the first two matches of the series.

The World XI swapped out Tim Paine and Paul Collingwood for Darren Sammy and George Bailey, whereas Hassan Ali replaced Sohail Khan for Pakistan.

PAK 183-4 (20 overs)
WXI 150-8 (20 overs)

Pakistan: Ahmed Shehzad, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (c)(wk), Muhammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hassan Ali, Usman Shinwari and Rumman Raees.

World XI: Tamim Iqbal, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (c), David Miller, Darren Sammy, Thisara Perera, George Bailey (wk), Ben Cutting, Samuel Badree, Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *