Pakistan wins today: Super League grand finale brings international cricket back home

MAMOSA Report — Pakistan Super League 2017 cricket saw a grand finale at Lahore’s mammoth Gaddafi Stadium Sunday night with Peshawar Zalmi becoming the Champions by thrashing the Quetta Gladiators by 58 runs.

What was being anticipated as an intensely competitive final battle turned into a one-sided game, as the Gladiators buckled under the pressure of a 149-run target set by the Zalmi.

‘Boob Boom’ Shahid Afridi with 12 stiches to his right hand sat on the sidelines as he watched his team’s runup to championship captained by Darren Sammy.

Sammy credited Shahid Afridi for convincing him to make the trip to Lahore for the final. “He’s one of the great players from Pakistan and has been very instrumental in my decision to come here,” he said.

“The game’s electric, the standard of cricket has been good. I’m glad I came to experience the atmosphere here. It’s a wonderful thing,” Sammy said.

“Today I think there are a lot of smiles in Peshawar… Even though Peshawar came out on top, cricket was the winner today,” he said.

During the awards ceremony after the match, Sammy was awarded the ‘Man of the Final’ trophy.

Kamran Akmal was awarded ‘Man of the Tournament’, along with prizes for best wicket-keeping and batting. Sohail Khan was awarded the prize for best bowler of the tournament as he was the highest wicket-taker this PSL season.

Gaddafi Stadium was filled from one corner to the other with cricket fanatics, roaring the message of peace and impending prosperity as international cricketers from West Indies, South Africa, Zimbabwe and England appeared in the stadium representing the two finalist teams.

Earlier in the day, Nobel laureate Malala Yousufzai wished good luck to Peshawar Zalmi. “Good wishes for Peshawar Zalmi as I’m a big fan and support this team but whoever wins, it’s Pakistan’s win,” she said.

“I hope the next PSL can take place completely in Pakistan,” Malala said, whose home province is Khyber Paktunkhwa – Peshawar Zalmi team belongs to KP.

The second edition of the PSL was hosted in the UAE due to security concerns in the country. However, the final was played in Lahore Sunday night.

Pakistan, after years of terrorism and turmoil was able to stage a landmark international event in Lahore.

Peshawar Zalmi

Kamran Akmal, DJ Malan, MN Samuels, Mohammad Hafeez, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, DJG Sammy (C), CJ Jordan, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Asghar.

Quetta Gladiators
Ahmed Shehzad, MN van Wyk, Anamul Haque, SM Ervine, Saad Nasim, Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Zulfiqar Babar, Rayad Emrit, Hassan Khan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *