PSL 2017 final in Lahore: PM, Army Chief, CMs invited; the party must go on, PCB decides

MAMOSA Report — All the franchises participating in the Pakistan Super League 2017 have, in principal, agreed to play the final in Lahore –capital of Punjab (Pakistan’s largest province), on 7th March as planned by the Pakistan Cricket Board, media outlets reported.

Geo report said a high-level meeting was chaired by chairman PSL Najam Sethi in Dubai on Monday, wjere all the team owners took time to reinforce their solidarity and conviction with the decision of taking the final of the PSL back to its rightful home, the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium in Lahore, which is also the head office of both the PCB and the PSL.

“Players who are willing to tour Pakistan will be paid an additional amount of $10,000 to $50,000 for traveling to Pakistan,” said the source.

The owners of franchise Karachi Kings told the meeting that three of their team members, Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawerdene, have refused to visit Pakistan for the final.

Clouds of uncertainty had loomed over the final of Pakistan’s T20 tournament following a new wave of terrorism which hit the country over the past week, in which over 100 people were killed and hundreds more injured. One of the terrorist attacks was carried out in Lahore on February 13, in which 14 people lost their lives.

PM, Army Chief, Chief Ministers invited to PSL 2017 final

PSL chairman Najam Sethi has extended invitation to Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa and the Chief Ministers of all provinces for the PSL final in Lahore.

“PSL management and franchisees resolve to hold Final in Lahore. We invite PM, COAS and CMs to attend the match at Gadafi Stadium,” Sethi tweeted on Monday.

List of players willing to travel to Lahore for final

This list was presented to franchise owners and comprises players who have agreed to visit Lahore for PSL final:

Rohan Mustafa

Devon Thomas

Jayson Mohammad

Shane Shillingsford

Craig Ervine

Sean Williams

Anamul Haq Bijoy

Shahriar Nafees

Dawid Malan (Gold)

Morne van Wyk (Gold)

Sachitra Senanayake (Gold)

Seekuge Prasanna (Gold)

Jeevan Mendis (Silver)

Alex Wakely (Gold)

Joshua Cobb (Gold)

Nikhill Dutta

Azeem Rafiq

Danza Hyatt

Krishmar Santokie

Tino Best

Phil Mustard

Fidel Edwards (Gold/Silver)

Elton Chigumbura (Gold/Silver)

Max Waller (Silver)

Darren Stevens (Gold)

Peter Trego (Silver)

Richard Levi (Gold/Silver)

Miguel Cummins (Silver)

Asghar Stanikzai (Gold)

Dawlat Zadran

Nawroz Mangal

Danushka Gunathilaka

Farveez maharoof

Kusal Mendis

Steven Taylor


Soumya Sarkar (Silver)

Jade Dernbach (Gold)

Owais Shah (Gold)

Yasir Arafat (Gold)

Rayad Emrit  (Diamond)

Suleman Benn (Gold)

Brendan Taylor (Gold)

Rashid Khan (Diamond)

Ashar Zaidi (Silver)

Ryan ten Doeschate (Silver)

Akeal Hosein (Silver)

Graeme Cremer (Silver)

Sean Ervine (Silver)

Chamara Kapugedera (Gold)

Milinda Siriwardana (Gold)

Anuk Fernando (Gold)

Gihan Rupasinghe (Silver)

Kausal Silva (Silver)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *