Recount Aamir Liaquat, Vawda Constituencies Votes, It Will Expose Poll Rigging: Kamal

Posted on Posted inPolitics

JUL 28, 2018: Karachi-based Pak Sarzameen Party’s leader and former mayor Mustafa Kamal claimed that election’s transparency will stand exposed after a recount on the seats won by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Faisal Vawda and Aamir Liaquat in the metropolis.

Vawda won NA-249 seat against PML-N President and former CM Punjab Mian Shehbaz Sharif after reportedly getting 35,344 votes against Sharif’s 34,626 (a difference of 718 with vote rejections exceeding 3000) votes, and Liaquat won NA-245 after defeating MQM-Pakistan leader Dr Farooq Sattar with 56,615 votes against Sattar’s 35,247 votes.

Sharif‘s request for recounting of votes in NA-249 was rejected by the returning officer (RO) of the constituency on Friday. Mushahidullah Khan, a senior leader of the PML-N, told PKonweb the PML-N would file an appeal with the election commission against the decision of the RO. His behavior “has proved that the party is not being provided a level playing field”, Khan told Dawn.

The the former Karachi mayor did not mince any word in criticizing the poll results. “I have never seen such tainted election in my life. Results came from Dera Bugti and areas bordering Afghanistan but Karachi’s results came after two days,” Kamal said while speaking on Geo News show “Jirga” with Saleem Safi.

Kamal said the over-represented mandate would not help PTI Chairman Imran Khan to run his government smoothly.

“There is a joke that a suicide bomber in a letter to his commander said he went past heaven due to excess explosives he was carrying. Same happened here, such was the excess committed in the election results that Imran went past heaven.”

Ballot papers found in Korangi’s garbage dump

A large number of workers and supporters of various political parties staged a protest in Korangi after the discovery of ballot papers from a garbage dump in Qayyumabad, within the limits of Korangi Industrial Area. The area falls within the NA-241 constituency where PTI candidate Faheem Khan won with 26,706 votes against MQM-P candidate Muhammad Moin Aamer Pirzada who bagged 23,873 votes.

The protesters, who included former Muttahida Qaumi Movement MPA Waqar Shah, claimed the recovery of stamped ballot papers was proof of rigging in the July 25 general elections. They demanded the Election Commission of Pakistan to take notice of the incident and conduct an investigation.

The ballot papers in question were stamped in favour of candidates of various political parties and even had serial numbers on the back.

Protesters claimed someone had attempted to burn the ballot papers in the garbage dump.

The papers that could be salvaged from the dump included several which were stamped in favour of the Pakistan Peoples Party candidate Moazzam Ali Qureshi.

ECP releases final results of July 25 polls

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had announced final results of all the constituencies of the national and provincial assemblies, more than 56 hours after the conclusion of voting for the 2018 General Elections in the country.

According to an update issued by the ECP, Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has won 116 of the 270 National Assembly seats, emerging as the largest political party in the country. The PML-N grabbed 64 seats, while the PPP is in third place with 43 National Assembly seats.

Similarly, MMA secured 12 seats and PML-Q, Balochistan National Party, MQM-P and BAP secured 4, 3, 6 and 4 seat respectively.

ANP won one seat, AML, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaniyat and JWP also grabbed one NA seat each.

As many as 14 independent candidates have also remained successful in their constituencies. They are likely to play an important role in formation of the federal government.

According to the ECP, the voter turnout in the National Assembly elections remained 51.85 percent — less in comparison with the 52.3% voter turnout in general elections 2013.

The highest voter turnout of 55.09 percent was recorded in the Punjab assembly elections followed by Sindh 48.11%, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 45.52% and Balochistan assembly 51.85 percent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *